SecureMac Company Press

Stay up-to-date with SecureMac’s latest company related news and press releases. View all past press releases and news articles.

ShredIt

Posted on June 2, 2001

Information

You can use ShredIt to shred files, folders, the free space on a disk, or the entire contents of a drive. It will shred data on the hard drive, an external hard drive, a floppy disk, a zip disk, windows formatted media, a RAM disk, any disk you can attach you can attach to your Macintosh (except Read-only disks and CD ROMs).

Configure ShredIt to ask you before it shreds so that you can confirm or cancel shredding.

Choose the overwrite pattern and the number of times it will overwrite the original data. (To better protect your privacy, the ARC Standard Write Pattern and ARC Standard Number of Writes are confidential.)

Use ShredIt to shred the free space on the disk. This will ensure that anything you have previously thrown in the trash cannot be recovered.

Shred the contents of the Hard drive, but not the Operating System. You may want to do this before transferring ownership of the machine to another person. For further information on this, please see the Read me file supplied in the download folder.

You can use ShredIt to shred the contents of the Hard drive, including the Operating System. You may want to do this before giving the machine to a school. For further information on this, please see the Read me file supplied in the download folder.

You can use ShredIt to shred the entire contents of another disk. You may want to do this before using a pre-owned disk

Views

Any data that you don’t want others prying eyes focused on should be destroyed. Even a file that is encrypted should be securely destroyed.

New Features as of 4.9

Version 4.9 adds the Safe Place feature. Important items, like children’s homework, can be kept in a Safe Place folder and ShredIt will not shred them. Simply create the Safe Place folder, drag important items into the folder, and relax.

Features

  • Speed improvement up to 10x on large files
  • Configurable confirmation dialog box
  • Automatic quit after 10 seconds of inactivity (when drop launched)
  • Progress bar
  • Auto sensing registration.
  • DEMO – try before you buy – version.
Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Email this to someonePrint this page